Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Zum Hauptinhalt springen
OpenTable-Logo
  1. Startseite
  2. Vereinigtes Königreich
  3. Dorset
  4. Wareham
  5. Wareham

Halfway Inn

4.2
4.2
774 Bewertungen
Bis zu 25 Britische Pfund
Britisch
Top-Etiketten:
  • Ideal für Mittagessen
  • Essen im Außenbereich
  • Kinderfreundlich

The Halfway Inn is a beautiful 16th century pub, located on the heathland halfway between Wareham and Corfe Castle.

Dogs Welcome! Families Welcome!

You may choose to dine in our cosy pub, in our garden room or in our large beer garden with a children’s play area.

We welcome the lifting of Covid restrictions and would like to thank you for all your support through these difficult times.

As we enter this new phase, we fully support the policy of personal responsibility.

Bearing this in mind, moving forward we will
* encourage but not enforce mask wearing indoors
* continue with table service
* standing and service at the bar will not return
* hand sanitiser stations will remain in place
* collect your contact details for NHS test and trace
* encourage but not enforce checking in with the QR code.

LETS ALL STILL STAY SAFE AND RESPECT EACH OTHERS SPACE.

Tisch reservieren

2 Personen

19:00


Heute 2 Mal reserviert

Zusätzliche Informationen

  • Restaurantart

    Zwangloses Restaurant

  • Küchen

    Britisch

  • Öffnungszeiten

    Di–Sa 12:00 Uhr–20:30 Uhr So 12:00 Uhr–18:00 Uhr

  • Telefonnummer

    01929 480402

  • Zahlungsmethoden

    MasterCard, Visa

  • Kleidung

    Legere Kleidung

  • Catering

    At the Halfway Inn, we pride ourselves on offering delicious dishes and a comfortable atmosphere. Our cosy dining areas complete with log burning fires, flagstone floors and wattle and daub walls, make for the perfect place to enjoy a spot to eat. During the summer months, our beautifully bright airy garden room and extensive outside seating areas are perfectly positioned for guests to dine al ’fresco. We’ve got everyone’s taste buds covered, from traditional pub classics like our Beer Battered Fish and Chips to our speciality dishes like our Vegan Five Bean and Lentil Chilli.

  • Räume für private Veranstaltungen

    We now have a private dining garden room that will accommodate up to 30 seated and more for a buffet. Check out our website for pictures.

  • Gebiet

    Wareham

  • Details zu Parkplätzen

    Large Car Park

  • Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

    Bus stop located outside the house with buses every hour during the day and every hour and half after 7:30pm..

  • Weitere Details

    Aussicht, Bar/Lounge, Bier, Biergarten, Glutenfreie Optionen, Kamin, Komplette Bar, Nebenräume, Raucherbereich außen, Rollstuhl-Zugang, Terrasse/Im Freien, Terrasse/Im Freien, Wein

Beliebte Gerichte

Was 774 Gäste sagen

Bewertungen insgesamt

Bewertungen können nur von Gästen gemacht werden, die in diesem Restaurant gegessen haben.

4.2
4,2 basierend auf den neuesten Bewertungen
  • 4,2Essen
  • 4,5Service
  • 4,2Ambiente
  • 4Preis-Leistung

LärmGemäßigt

Besonders beliebt

  • Dorset

    Kinderfreundlich

  • Dorset

    Ideal für Mittagessen

  • Dorset

    Essen im Außenbereich

Sortieren nach

Filter

  1. LW

    LinW

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 1 Tag besucht

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very pleasant staff , food was excellent and surroundings very pleasant . A very good experience and we will return
  2. DP

    DawnP

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 5 Tagen besucht

    overall3food2service4ambience3
    Menu not very large and not much choice, have been many times, but would hesitate to go again after this last visit.
  3. TM

    TonyM

    Hampshire

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. September 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    This was the third time that we have dined at the Halfway Inn. The other two times were just before the pandemic, so we were unsure how it would measure up. So many restaurants we have tried have failed to reach their pre-Covid standards. Despite the notice warning that they were struggling to get staff, the service was good, as was the food. Some menu choices weren't available nevertheless, the Roast Chicken and Roast Pork dinner's that we ordered were well presented, hot and delicious, as was the Sharing Sticky Toffee Pudding that we followed up with. All washed down with tasty Fursty Ferret. What's not to love?

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review Tony. We truly appreciate it! Hope to see you again very soon!

  4. TS

    TomS

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great little pub, lovely roast beef and very helpful staff

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for your kind review and rating Tom! do be sure to stop by again soon!

  5. AR

    AmandaR

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 22. September 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience5
    I had the meat plater it was very nice just the beef a little tuff after cheese board was very nice .

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for the lovely review and rating!

  6. CD

    ChristineD

    Dorset

    2 Bewertungen

    5.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 22. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We are lever and bacon ‘yummy’ and the meat platter which was lovely

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for the kind review and 5* rating! We hope to see you again soon!

  7. J

    Jarry

    Buckinghamshire

    2 Bewertungen

    5.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 21. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Nice and clean. Delicious food, friendly staff . I was in Holiday in this area not far from where I was staying.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for the 5* review and nice comment. Do be sure to stop by in the future!

  8. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 18. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    this our place to go when we on holiday in the area. Friendly welcoming staff and excellent food

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for the lovely review and 5* rating. We appreciate it!

  9. NH

    NeilH

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 18. September 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Very good Sunday lunch fantastic service good value

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 28. September 2022Thank you for the lovely review and kind words! We do hope to see you again soon!

  10. A

    Angie

    Brighton

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 15. September 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Friendly staff and good service. Food mediocre Good parking. Not too busy
  11. SC

    SamC

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 10. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Open sandwich was delicious as was mackerel pate
  12. DH

    DaveHoughty

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 4. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing friendly welcome to us and our Puppy!! Superb service prompt food and 100% Amazing Sunday Roast as for the Sticky Toffee Pudding OUTSTANDING
  13. DT

    DTE1

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    1.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 4. September 2022

    overall1food1service3ambience3
    We ordered Sunday Roast, Veg curry and 2 childrens meals, Cheese Burger with chips and Sausage, beans and chips. The Roast was very poor. Swimming in gravy with dry beef, roast potatoes which were impossible to cut through and vegetables (carrots, cauliflower and cabbage - probably the best part). For £16 this was appalling. My wife ate half her curry and was equally unimpressed. Even our children avoided their meals. Burger was a dry patty sandwiched in a very dry bun which crumbled and not even sauce could encourage my daughter to eat it and the skin on the sausage was tough. They ate a handful of chips only managing to eat beans. We had a pint and a half of Firsty Ferret and two soft drinks. The bill came to over £60. We’re local and won’t be returning again unless there’s a significant change. For a Hall & Woodhouse pub we expected far better. We’ll stick with The Old Granary in Wareham in future for a local H&W pub which is comparable in cost and outstrips the Halfway Inn on every level.
  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Essex

    4 Bewertungen

    4.0

    4 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 28. August 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience5
    Great speedy service. We had 2 roast beef lunches plus desert. All courses were nicely presented although the beef was a little gristly. Was more than edible though.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 31. August 2022Thank you so much for the 4 star rating. We use a corner cut topside for our roast beef and are surprised you found it gristly. Please accept our apologies.

  15. AT

    AndyT

    Dorset

    3 Bewertungen

    5.0

    3 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 28. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The staff are very friendly and efficient and the food was delicious 😋

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 31. August 2022Thank you AndyT.

  16. B

    Betty

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 27. August 2022

    overall3food1service4ambience4
    Normal pub menu but quite expensive for the quality of the food. Staff and service however were very good.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 31. August 2022Thank you for the three star rating. We feel that we offer good value for money with our fresh food menu in an expensive part of Dorset.

  17. SM

    SteffM

    London

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 26. August 2022

    overall3food2service5ambience4
    The staff were very friendly and attentive and can’t highly praise them enough. Sadly our food was rather lack lustre and we didn’t feel like the prices reflected the quality of the food. It’s a shame as we really looked forward to coming but we’re just a bit let down with the food.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 31. August 2022Thank you for the three star rating and the lovely comments about our great team. We cater for 300+ meals a day in the summer. We keep the menu and presentation simple so we can cope with those numbers. We feel that our prices reflect a fresh food menu in an expensive part of the county.

  18. RH

    RodH

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 24. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    First time visiting the halfway inn and was very happy with the service. Fast, friendly service, very good food, piping hot, and tasted great.. Definitely would recommend to family and friends

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thanks for the great review!

  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 22. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience3
    Very friendly, helpful & efficient staff. Good choice of food & drinks.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thank you for the great feedback

  20. RP

    RaymondP

    Dorset

    2 Bewertungen

    3.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 22. August 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Booked for a party of 4 to meet up after a year, we were in the corner table in the main bar area which was very noisy, I wanted to move but by this time we were seated so stayed put. The menu was OK but seemed expensive, soft drinks very expensive. Service was attentive and quick. Should have moved tables and would have been far more enjoyable, but that is my fault not there’s .

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Hi Raymond, We are sorry if other guests were a bit noisy for you. Sadly we are generally fully booked at this time of year and may not have had another table for you. Please do make a note on your booking when coming again so we can try to accommodate your request for a quieter area. Prices have gone up, as so have our overheads, biut we feel we are quite competitive for the purbecks.

  21. D

    chrisD

    Hertfordshire

    6 Bewertungen

    4.0

    6 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 21. August 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Lovely pub. Nice outdoor setting. Chain owned pub. Food good. Service really good. Good outside kids play area.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Hi Chris, The Halfway Inn is owned by Hall and Woodhouse, a family run brewery in Blandford. It is run as a business partnership by Ben & Anne Brown. This means we design our own menu, employ our own staff and run the pub as we see fit. We feel this gives it a personal touch.

  22. S

    Siobhan1983

    London

    3 Bewertungen

    5.0

    3 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 19. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We love the half way inn although I do feel the children’s meals are quite pricey as no pudding or drink included for the £7.50 unlike other local pubs do.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thank you for the 5 star rating. We note your comments on the children's meals. We use the same quality ingredients as we give the adults on their meals and therefore we charge a little more for them.

  23. JC

    JaneC

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 19. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Really lovely home cooked food with great service

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thank you so much for the great 5 star rating and feedback.

  24. MJ

    MarkJ

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 17. August 2022

    overall3food2service5ambience4
    My pie was good but my partner’s curry was luke warm. They offered us a free dessert to make up for it though. Fair enough. I’d go back there but I don’t think my partner would.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022We are really sorry that your partners meal was not hot enough. In a very busy kitchen mistakes do occasionally happen. We trust he enjoyed his free dessert.

  25. AC

    AnneC

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 17. August 2022

    overall4food3service3ambience4
    Although the food was nice enough, I didn’t find it value for money. The plates weren’t bursting with food for the price paid

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thank you for the 4 star rating. We are sorry if you did not feel that our fresh food menu was value for money.

  26. AJ

    AlanJ

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 17. August 2022

    overall3food2service5ambience5
    The service was good, the place has a very pleasant ambience. The menu had enough variety and the prices were quite reasonable. Unfortunately this was let down by the food. The steak and ake pie, although initially very tasty, was far too salty. I think the salt was in the gravy because it seemed to build up during the meal until it became very unpleasant. The scampi was fine.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022We make our own gravy from a stock pot and get very good feedback on it. It is generally served over the pie, but we can put it in a separate jug if you prefer next time.

  27. JH

    JulieH

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 14. August 2022

    overall3food3service2ambience2
    Roast potatoes chewy cabbage chewy. Meat lovely nobody asked how our meal was. Expected a better dinner for£16.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022We are sorry that you were disappointed in your meal. We batch cook our roast potatoes and only hold them hot for a short while. We would happily have replaced them if you had raised this on the day. We do try to check back, but simply do not have the staff to get round everyone in the height of summer, when we are serving 300 meals a day.

  28. SK

    StuartK

    Dorset

    2 Bewertungen

    4.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 12. August 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Dog friendly easy going pub with really good food, job done

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Thank you for the 4 star rating and feedback.

  29. SB

    SteB

    London

    1 Bewertung

    VIP
    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 11. August 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience2
    Food was expensive and not great quality, kids food the same
  30. EC

    ElizabethC

    Liverpool

    3 Bewertungen

    3.0

    3 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 11. August 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience3
    Food was ok but service very slow. We had to ask 3 times for some water and were charged extra for onion rings when they were supposed to come with the meal. Bit disappointed really.
  31. BS

    BenS

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 10. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Warm greeting, excellent service and lovely food.
  32. RB

    RoyB

    Cambridge

    2 Bewertungen

    5.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 4. August 2022

    overall5food4service4ambience4
    Been here before some years ago and the food was excellent. Same quality today and staff were excellent!

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 6. August 2022Thank you for the lovely review! We do hope to see you again soon!

  33. JF

    JudiF

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 1. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    What can I say that has not already been included above. The food was good, service was good, ambience good, it was value for money, quiet and peaceful. The staff were friendly and very efficient. We enjoyed the experience and will go again.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 3. August 2022Thank you for a lovely, detailed review. We look forward to seeing you again!

  34. PS

    PhilipS

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 31. Juli 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Good service by friendly young staff food good would definitely return if in area again

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 2. August 2022Thank you for your kind review and 4* rating!

  35. AB

    AnthonyB

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 30. Juli 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We were entertaining visitors from the North of England and, at first, were slightly apprehensive as there had been some not very nice reviews on the web page. However, we happily discovered that the staff were pleasant and attentive, the drinks were well maintained and the food was plentiful and delicious. The outside area where we dined was clean and well maintained. Overall, a very nice lunch in a delightful location. We will return!

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 2. August 2022We are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the kind review and please be sure to stop by in the future!

  36. HC

    HannahC

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 28. Juli 2022

    overall3food1service2ambience1
    Bad food, fish was still swimming in loads of fat. Starters came with our main course. Very expensive food and zero quality.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 2. August 2022Hello Hannah, Our fish specials tend to be very popular and we apologise if this wasn't up to standard, was your table checked back on to ensure the food was okay? We would have been happy to replace this for you if you thought the fish was bad. But we have had plenty of kind comments and feedback on our fish specials! We can only apologise if the starters had been sent with the mains. Mistakes happen sometimes! our team work very hard to ensure everyone is happy!

  37. SW

    SarahW

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 28. Juli 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Food was ok but did expect better quality for the higher price.

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 2. August 2022Hello Sarah, We do have plenty on offer from our daily specials and core summer menu and we believe the quality reflects the cost.

  38. H

    Holidayperson

    Warwickshire

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. Juli 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    This was a standard pub with food and drinks that were just fine- what I would expect from your average pub- not great, not terrible. There is a lovely playground outside for children and it’s in a beautiful area. The price didn’t really match with the quality though- it was not good value for money but it’s in a tourist location so that’s to be expected. I did expect the staff to be a little more welcoming, and more knowledgeable of what drinks were available, but I felt as though my questions were a bit burdensome- they weren’t busy when we went so perhaps the waitress was just having a bad day. All in all it was nice enough but I don’t think I’d go back for food- just a drink outside in the nice garden area.
  39. DT

    DougT

    London

    2 Bewertungen

    VIP
    1.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 24. Juli 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience2
    I have been to the halfway Inn many times over the years and considered it one of our 'go to' restaurants. It's always been easy to book and the service and food good. Unfortunately yesterday was a completely different experience. The first member of staff that served us was polite enough. Although we was not asked if we had any alleges, which is most unusual these days. After this the food was served by a young girl that was abrupt and frankly rude. One of the meals was incorrect so we informed her, she snatched the meal away with no apology. The correct meal was then bought out again without a word said. It was almost like everything was too much trouble for her. Add to this that 4 of the 6 meals were bland and the garlic bread was simply a French stick with garlic it. We was never asked if our meals were ok of if we needed any sauces. Overall the experience was very poor, I understand that staff shortages are causing problems everywhere but I cannot tolerate rudeness when I am a regular paying customer. It will be sometime before I return again.
  40. RF

    RayF

    Dorset

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 24. Juli 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Perfect Very quick Well organised Good was lovely

    Halfway InnGeantwortet: 26. Juli 2022Thank you for your 5* rating and lovely comments!

Sicherheitsmaßnahmen

  • Reinigung und Desinfektion

    • Desinfektion von Oberflächen nach jedem Gast
    • Digitales, desinfiziertes oder Einweg-Menü
    • Gemeinschaftliche Bereiche werden täglich gründlich gereinigt
    • Desinfektionsmittel oder Reinigungstücher für Kunden
    • Kontaktlose Zahlung möglich
  • Räumliche Distanz

    • Begrenzte Anzahl sitzender Gäste
    • Abstandhalten in gemeinschaftlichen Bereichen
    • Zusätzlicher Platz zwischen den Tischen
  • Screening

    • Krankes Personal am Arbeitsplatz verboten
    • Das Personal ist geimpft
    • Überprüfung der Temperatur des Personals
    • Sammlung von Informationen zur Kontaktverfolgung

FAQ

Halfway Inn wurde mit 4.2 Sternen von 774 OpenTable-Gästen bewertet.

Ja, Sie können in diesem Restaurant reservieren, indem Sie auf OpenTable Datum, Uhrzeit und Personenzahl wählen.

Tisch reservieren

2 Personen

19:00


Heute 2 Mal reserviert
Halfway Inn auf Google Maps

Norden, Corfe Castle, Wareham, Dorset BH20 5DU

Zusätzliche Informationen

  • Gebiet

    Wareham

  • Öffnungszeiten

    Di–Sa 12:00 Uhr–20:30 Uhr So 12:00 Uhr–18:00 Uhr

  • Küchen

    Britisch

  • Restaurantart

    Zwangloses Restaurant

  • Kleidung

    Legere Kleidung

  • Details zu Parkplätzen

    Large Car Park

  • Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

    Bus stop located outside the house with buses every hour during the day and every hour and half after 7:30pm..

  • Zahlungsmethoden

    MasterCard, Visa

  • Weitere Details

    Aussicht, Bar/Lounge, Bier, Biergarten, Glutenfreie Optionen, Kamin, Komplette Bar, Nebenräume, Raucherbereich außen, Rollstuhl-Zugang, Terrasse/Im Freien, Terrasse/Im Freien, Wein

  • Telefonnummer

    01929 480402

  • Catering

    At the Halfway Inn, we pride ourselves on offering delicious dishes and a comfortable atmosphere. Our cosy dining areas complete with log burning fires, flagstone floors and wattle and daub walls, make for the perfect place to enjoy a spot to eat. During the summer months, our beautifully bright airy garden room and extensive outside seating areas are perfectly positioned for guests to dine al ’fresco. We’ve got everyone’s taste buds covered, from traditional pub classics like our Beer Battered Fish and Chips to our speciality dishes like our Vegan Five Bean and Lentil Chilli.

  • Räume für private Veranstaltungen

    We now have a private dining garden room that will accommodate up to 30 seated and more for a buffet. Check out our website for pictures.

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 ​–​ Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
OpenTable ist Teil von Booking Holdings, dem weltweiten Marktführer für Online‑Reisen und zugehörige Dienstleistungen.
Booking-LogoPriceline-LogoKAYAK-LogoAgoda-LogoRentalcars-LogoOpenTable-Logo