Firefly Grill

4.7
1850 Bewertungen
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
30 USD und darunter
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Amerikanisch
Top-Etiketten:
  • Besondere Anlässe
  • Für Rendezvous geeignet
  • Einheimische Zutaten
Der Firefly Grill ist eine moderne Raststätte am Ufer des Kristie Lake. Die Eigentümer und Betreiber dieses Restaurants, der Koch Niall Campbell und seine Frau Kristie, erwarten Sie mit frischer amerikanischer Küche im Herzen des Mittleren Westens. Das Menü des Firefly wechselt täglich und umfasst frische Meeresfrüchte, über dem Eichenholzfeuer gegrillte Steaks und Steinofenpizza. Im Firefly werden wann immer möglich regionale Zutaten sowie frische Kräuter und Gemüse direkt aus dem eigenen Garten verwendet.
Sortieren nach
Filter
AK
1 Bewertung
vor 3 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 4Ambiente 5

The food was absolutely amazing! I loved the taste of the food, the pleasure of our server and really enjoyed the ambiance. It was slightly higher priced, but worth the price!

Melden
Hilfreich
L
1 Bewertung
vor 3 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Favorite place to stop when passing thru Effingham. Food is always very fresh and service is outstanding.

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
Cleveland
6 Bewertungen
vor 3 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 4Essen 4Service 5Ambiente 5

Beautiful atmosphere. Upon arrival however, we were greeted by three people. When I gave my name, they all stared at the computer for a long time, saying nothing. I finally had to ask if they found it-one of them confirmed they had. I then asked if we could sit outside. One of the three asked the man “Are we seating outside?” He answered her “no” but didn’t look at me. It was awkward. There were clearly people outside eating and many empty tables as well. We were seated inside. Our server Jordan was excellent. The crab purses and fried green tomatoes were great. The pork shank special was tender and had great flavor. My husband had l a Haddock special that was wonderful as well. For dessert the blackberry cobbler with ice cream was one of the best cobblers I’ve ever had - the homemade ice cream had great texture and flavor. By the time we finished, there were more people dining outside - however several tables were still empty.

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 2 Tagen geantwortet

Thank you so much for the review! We hate to hear you weren't seated at your preferred destination. To be honest, we had a bit of a staffing issue which forced us to close a few areas of the restaurant. We do this to ensure each guest is nurtured perfectly and so our service staff doesn't get overwhelmed. However, we should have been more upfront and honest about it, and for that we apologize. Thank you for your patience, kind words, and visit... We hope to see you again soon!

Melden
Hilfreich
B
St. Louis
15 Bewertungen
vor 4 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Chef always does a great job with our meal. Staff is always pleasant and efficient . A go to place for us.

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 2 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the awesome review, Bernie... And for your continued visits!

Melden
Hilfreich
JP
Chicago
1 Bewertung
vor 4 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 4Essen 2Service 5Ambiente 5

Over all the food was good but everything was a little salty except for the fries someone needs to make sure things are not over salted

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 2 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the review, JackP.! And for your honesty with our salting. It sounds like we need to check into that ASAP. Again, thank you so much for your feedback, and we hope we get another chance to serve you very soon.

Melden
Hilfreich
DW
1 Bewertung
vor 5 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Yummy food, great waitress, beautiful view. A hidden gem in the center of Illinois!

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 2 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the awesome review, Deborah! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us.

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
St. Louis
1 Bewertung
vor 5 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 4Essen 4Service 4Ambiente 4

Food and service are especially good. In my opinion it’s very pricey for entres and wine.

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 2 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the great review!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
Chicago
3 Bewertungen
vor 6 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

This is our third trip to this restaurant so expectations are high. This the first time that we brought or 15 year old son who is trying to decide between Hyde Park and Paris. Hmmm. We arrived on time for our reservations and had to wait a short time while the hostess and the manager discussed something. Afterward she greeted us with a megawatt smile asking how many in you party. When told that we had reservations she looked it up then greeted us by name. We were quickly seated at a table in a glasses in patio handed menus and told our server would be with us in a minute. To our delight Kayle was our server she was last time and was amazing. Will have to admit that this time she was even better given the circumstances she had to contend with a very contentious 4 top where nothing seamed to suit them. She put on a master class in grace and patience with dealing with them and still making her other tables feel as if we were her only customers.
We order the pretzels and crab purses both were excellent the purses were ever bit as good as I remembered them being. Then we all got the Montanan mignon it was very good last time it had bacon wrapped around which is typical this time it did not. Become the bacon does not get very crispy when cooked this way we all decide it was better this way than last time.
We had for desert the orang blossom creme brûlée with the decision split toni likes this one better i likes the one we had last time better sour apple creme brûlée.
The only down side was brought by my son and it was more of a question than a complaint half way into a very enjoyable meal the table was wet from condensation from the glasses why don’t they us coasters?

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 5 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the amazing review! We loved reading the story you explained our your experience at our restaurant and will be sure to share your kind words with Kaylee. It's guests like you that truly make us love what we do. And coasters are coming.... We promise :) Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
TP
Chicago
1 Bewertung
vor 6 Tagen besucht
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Great service from Miranda and the food is always of great quality and taste. I look forward to visiting Fire Fly Grill every time I am in the area entertaining my clients.

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 5 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the amazing review! We will be sure to share your kind words with Miranda.

Melden
Hilfreich
TB
St. Louis
21 Bewertungen
Besucht am 18. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Excellent service, tasty food!!

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 5 Tagen geantwortet

Thanks for the amazing review, TheresaB!

Melden
Hilfreich
SM
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 18. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Delicious as always, Firefly has become our go-to restaurant for birthdays, anniversaries and anytime we want a good meal.

Firefly Grill
Vor vor 5 Tagen geantwortet

WOW! Thanks for the awesome review. We are so honored to be your "go-to restaurant"... Thanks for your continued support!

Melden
Hilfreich
P
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 16. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

The food and service are always superb. We’ve enjoyed a casual lunch, large group birthday dinner and a romantic dinner for two.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 18. Juni 2019

Thanks for the great review, Peggy... And for continuing to come see us at firefly!

Melden
Hilfreich
F
Chicago
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 16. Juni 2019
Gesamt 4Essen 4Service 4Ambiente 5

We always enjoy coming to the Firefly. The food and service and overall experience never disappoints.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 18. Juni 2019

Thanks for the great review, Fern!

Melden
Hilfreich
KP
Indiana
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 15. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 4Ambiente 5

Thoroughly enjoyed and were definitely impressed with the food! Father's Day special is wonderful.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 17. Juni 2019

Thanks for the amazing review, KatieP.! We are so glad you enjoyed your Father's Day celebration with us. Thanks for stopping in - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
S
Chicago
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 15. Juni 2019
Gesamt 3Essen 2Service 3Ambiente 4

I was very excited about taking my father in law out for a nice dinner. He loves steak and lobster however the lobster did not come with our meal,( the kitchen had forgotten it) and when it did it was very over cooked and smelled fishy. It was not good at all. Our server was kind enough to take one of the lobsters off due to our wait but the quality of the fish was very poor. We enjoy coming here but just didnt catch them on a good night.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 17. Juni 2019

OH NO! It sounds like we really missed the mark with your lobster on Father's Day, but I'm glad to hear you were taken care of. Our lobster was freshly delivered and cooked to order, but it sounds like we missed the mark. We hope you can come again soon to give us another chance to really "Wow" you!

Melden
Hilfreich
JG
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 15. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

We were there early for lunch. Nice quiet dining but others were arriving as we finished. Overall great place. Would go again.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 17. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review! We are so glad you enjoyed a quiet lunch with us, and hope to see you again very soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
San Francisco
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 14. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

We went there for our 10 year anniversary and it was excellent. We ordered the Fried Green Tomatoes (which is our favorite dish on the whole menu) and the cheese curds. We split the fried chicken and the kitchen went ahead and split it for us on two plates which was really nice. If you can sit on the covered back patio, the views are fantastic. We LOVE this place!!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 17. Juni 2019

Thanks for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us including our fried green tomatoes - YUM! We can't wait to see you for another meal very soon. Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
RZ
Chicago
11 Bewertungen
Besucht am 13. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Delicious food, very accommodating staff lovely setting. We were there with 4 adults, 2 large dogs and 1 small dog. Everyone loved the dogs and kept us all happy. We live in Chicago but try to get here every summer.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 17. Juni 2019

Thanks for the amazing review, RebeccaZ! We are so glad you come visit us every summer, and love seeing those furry friends... Can't wait to see you again soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
P
San Antonio
4 Bewertungen
Besucht am 12. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

High quality food sourced locally. Excellent beef. Wife loved her Creme Brulee dessert. Best part was most everything on the me u can be made Gluten Free which helps my wife's allergy.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 18. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review, Paul! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, and that your wife left satisfied with our gluten-free options. Hope to see you again soon!

Melden
Hilfreich
F
Raleigh
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 11. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

The meal was exceptional, as always. I have been visiting Firefly Grill since they opened in 2005, whenever I come to town on business and will always continue to do so. The ambiance, the employees, everything about Firefly is amazing, you need to visit and enjoy the meals to talk about!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 13. Juni 2019

Thanks so much for the amazing review, Finedine... And for constantly supporting our restaurant! It's fireflies like you that make us so happy to do the work we do. Thank you so much, and we hope to see you again very soon. Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
FA
Chicago
14 Bewertungen
Besucht am 11. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

An absolute delight! Sat on the porch with delicious food, good wine, and attentive service.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 14. Juni 2019

Wow! Thanks for the amazing review... We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your firefly experience! Thank you so much for coming to visit us - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 9. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Absolutely fantastic food and service! Will definitely be back!!!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 10. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review... Can't wait to see you again soon!

Melden
Hilfreich
C
Minneapolis
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 8. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Great service, beautiful setting , ate on front patio, food was delicious - curry chicken meatballs, wedge salad and mushroom ravioli, only downside , wish the portion of ravioli was bigger!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 11. Juni 2019

WOW! Thank you so much for the awesome review, Charlie! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed so many of our dishes. We super appreciate your support, and can't wait to see you again soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
DE
Chicago
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 8. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 3Service 4Ambiente 5

Good food nice atmosphere my only complaint was our steaks were not cooked the way we ordered them but they did address the issue and took care of us

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 11. Juni 2019

Hi DarrelE.! Thank you so much for the 5-star review. We hate to hear we didn't cook your steaks correctly, but are glad to hear the issue was taken care of. We always like to take care of problems real-time so if you aren't enjoying something, let us know, and we will do our best to solve the issue. We hope you can give us another try very soon - Cheers! team firefly

Melden
Hilfreich
TB
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 7. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

We love going to the Firefly Grill! Anytime we are in Effingham, we have to go! Theresa and Noah took great care of us and the food was outstanding as always! We look forward to coming back again and again! I really liked being able to make a reservation online, pick our seating preference and get to a table right away upon arrival. Very convenient and easy! We will be back and will tell all of our friends!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 10. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review... We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, Tim! We will be sure to share your kind words with Theresa & Noah. We are sure lucky to have them part of our team. We also love that you thought our reservation system was easy to use. We always recommend making a reservation when coming to visit us to ensure you have the best experience. We can't wait to see you again soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
Chicago
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 7. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 4

Husbands birthday

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 10. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review... We are so glad you chose our restaurant to celebrate your husband's birthday!

Melden
Hilfreich
MR
Detroit
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 5. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

As always, great menu and service. Had several influential clients in town and was pleasantly surprised to be seated in “wine room”. Everyone loved the food and cocktails. Great wine list. Clients were from several big cities across the country and all left impressed by this gem in the heartland.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 10. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review, MarkR.! It sounds like you were upgraded to our Wine Room which is always a favorite spot in the restaurant. Thank you for choosing our restaurant to showcase with your big clients. We hope to see you again very soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
JP
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 4. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

This was my first visit to Firefly and was happy with the overall experience. We had the halibut and it was cooked perfectly.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 10. Juni 2019

Thanks for the great review, JoanP.! We are so glad you enjoyed your first visit with us, and hope we see you soon for your second!

Melden
Hilfreich
BA
Indiana
25 Bewertungen
Besucht am 2. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 4

Only issue was that we were beneath an A/C vent that blew directly down onto everyone making it uncomfortable.
A defuser would be a nice addition.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 4. Juni 2019

Hi Barb & Jerrey - Thanks for the 5-Star review! We hate to hear you were cold throughout your dinner. Please let us know in the future if you are uncomfortable, and we would be happy to move you! We will also be looking into this issue to see if we need to do some table rearranging. Cheers! team firefly

Melden
Hilfreich
P
Chicago
22 Bewertungen
Besucht am 2. Juni 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 4Service 5Ambiente 5

We had a great brunch experience. Service was excellent, salmon was very well prepared, but needed just a tad of salt on the potato. Dont miss the banana icecream, to die for...

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 4. Juni 2019

Thanks for the awesome review, Phillies! We are so glad you enjoyed your salmon, but will be checking with our kitchen staff on the seasoning of the potatoes. Sounds like we have a problem there! But we are even more happy to read you loved the banana ice cream... Yum! Can't wait to see you again soon - Cheers! team firefly

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 31. Mai 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Date night, perfect!! We sat outside and enjoyed the pond, fountain and amazing food! The dry aged steak was amazing! We can’t wait to come back!

Melden
Hilfreich
NA
Cincinnati
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 27. Mai 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

our second time here. one of the best restaurants i have ever been too. loved it

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 29. Mai 2019

Thanks for the awesome review, NickyA! We are so glad you could join us for a 2nd time and really enjoyed yourself. We hope you can come see us again very soon - Cheers!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 25. Mai 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Great environment and food for a casual date night!

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 28. Mai 2019

Thanks for the awesome review!

Melden
Hilfreich
OT
Indiana
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 24. Mai 2019
Gesamt 4Essen 4Service 5Ambiente 4

My mother treated my sister, her husband, my husband and me to an anniversary dinner, so there were six of us. We were seated on a glassed in porch. The view was great, but it was a little chilly out there. The food was great except for most of us except for my brother-in-law’s pepperoni pizza. It was dripping in grease. Had it been my meal, I would have sent it back. He said nothing, so that’s his fault. Other than that, everything was great.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 28. Mai 2019

Thanks so much for the 4-star review! We hate to hear your brother-in-law didn't enjoy his pizza. However, please let us know next time, and we will be sure to make it right real time. This is the best way for us to coach our staff to know when a pizza just isn't right. We hope you can come join us again for another opportunity to wow you. Cheers! team firefly

Melden
Hilfreich
B
St. Louis
8 Bewertungen
Besucht am 24. Mai 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 5

Every time we come the food is superb. The freshness and quality is there every time

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 28. Mai 2019

Thanks so much for the great review, Bill!

Melden
Hilfreich
CW
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 23. Mai 2019
Gesamt 5Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 4

Travel from Canada to St.Louis every year and we look forward to our dinner here every year.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 28. Mai 2019

Thanks for the awesome review... and your continued stops!

Melden
Hilfreich
PS
Chicago
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 23. Mai 2019
Gesamt 3Essen 3Service 2Ambiente 4

We've dined at the Firefly Grill several times and have always looked forward to the experience. The last visit on Thursday 6/23/19 was noticeably less satisfying. Our server started out being very helpful and pleasantly interactive. After our drink and appetizers, he took our main course order. We waited 20 minutes and were offered someone else's order. Our server quickly apologized and took the order to the proper table. We figured our order would soon follow. We waited another 20-25 minutes before our order arrived. My 8 oz. steak was absolute perfect and the whipped potatoes very satisfying. However, while the salmon was delicious, the griile brussel sprouts and fingerling potatoes on my wife's order were grossly undercooked. When we were finished and ready for our check, our server was absent. Although, he walked by out table, he made ho eye contact and didn't check on us for 25 minutes. We felt ignored by J. Fortado.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 28. Mai 2019

Phil - Thank you so much for your honest review. We hate so much to hear you felt this way on your most recent dining experience. Please know, we take this seriously, and will be doing some additional training with Jordan to make sure this doesn't happen in the future. It also sounds like we need to check on the salmon set as well, and we will! We appreciate your feedback, and hope you give us another chance to wow you in the future. Cheers! team firefly

Melden
Hilfreich
N
Washington, D.C
69 Bewertungen
Besucht am 20. Mai 2019
Gesamt 4Essen 4Service 4Ambiente 4

A gem in southern Illinois. It was a nice surprise to stumble upon this restaurant in Effingham. The food is good, the wine list is broad, and the service is friendly. Despite good choices of steak, I would recommend sea food. Prices are high and comparable to Chicago upscale dinning.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 23. Mai 2019

Thanks for the awesome review, Neighbor!

Melden
Hilfreich
JT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 20. Mai 2019
Gesamt 4Essen 5Service 5Ambiente 4

Be sure they understand how to use the OpenTable App. Staff did not manage it this time. Hopefully will do better next time.
Good people though.
Joe, our waiter was Tremendous! On the ball, helpful and sincere. A+ for Joseph 👍🏼😁🌅🍹

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 23. Mai 2019

Hi JeffT. We hate to hear you didn't get a good OpenTable experience when you visited us... Our staff is pretty up to par with the system, but it sounds like we missed the mark. I am so glad to hear Joe was able to win you over and help you enjoy your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Melden
Hilfreich
CS
Chicago
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 19. Mai 2019
Gesamt 3Essen 3Service 2Ambiente 3

We ordered the cheese curds for an app and half were without cheese. Portions were small and we had an empty glass a lot. Over main course was ok. Dessert was the best part of the meal. We had the bread pudding.

Firefly Grill
Geantwortet: 23. Mai 2019

Hi ChrisS. Thanks for the honest review... We hate to hear you didn't enjoy your experience and are working to make sure if anything, the cheese curds are better for your next visit.

Melden
Hilfreich
1
2
3
47
null