One Fifty One Kitchen & Bar
One of the best brunch places in DuPage County and the grits are definitely legit!
I’ve been here a handful of times and they continue to disappoint. New chefs have not helped turn this place around and service continues to be incredibly slow and inattentive. Menu looks good but execution is horrible.
Hi Elmhurst41, Sorry to hear you don't enjoy your times with us. Rest assured, things have improved and we are getting rave reviews. Hope you can try us again soon. Thanks for the review!
The manager and waitress knocked themselves out to make us happy after it started with disaster. Got there and were told by the hostess that we had no reservations even though they had already seated our friends. She was very rude. We left and luckily came back in to prove we had Open Table reservations and our friends saw us.
Service was terrible, appetizer was cold (baked Brie) and not good, dinner took over 2 hours for 2 people. Food was mediocre at best. Also, made a reservation and still had to wait for the table for 15 min. Very disappointed.
Hi there. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us, I can assure you this isn't normally the case. It was a very busy night and tables were enjoying themselves, therefore, not wanting to leave. We do not ask guests to depart from their tables, which is likely why you did have to wait for a rather short period of time. I hope you will give us a try again soon so we can change your mind!
Great meal. Loved our waitress but drink service lagged at times, not her fault though
"Good, not great." - Dwight Schrute
Our food was very good, the restaurant was very attractive. We thought the wine list was very overpriced. Our server brought us the wrong glass of wine and when she brought the correct one, she took the incorrect one back to the bar. What did they do with the full glass I already drank from? Yuck if the served it again to someone else. We really liked the coffee from the local roaster Daydream Coffee, but the hostess could tell us nothing about it and told us to ask at the bar if we needed more information.
Thanks for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal, we just updated to our Winter Menu and are very excited about it! Sorry about the wine switch up, as in any mistake that is made, our staff is told to remove the item and replace it with the correct one. I am sure your server would have been happy to leave it with you if it was communicated. Under no circumstance would your wine have been redistributed to another table. See you again soon.
Was not impressed when the restaurant first opened. Since the new chef and menu, it’s much nicer. Would definitely recommend!!
The staff was great! We would definitely come back. loved the SHrimp and Grits BUT wish there were LESS onions in the grits.
Family enjoyed the food and the restaurant is highly rated. The starter menu left me wanting to just order an array of appetizers.The staff was friendly and helpful. Perhaps because it was Sunday night, the service was shared and a little slow. I would reccomend trying this restaurant.
Wonderful choice of very fresh local fare; hade the pork chop which was phenomenal; friend had salmon; excellent...great experience will definitely return!
Great cocktails food and service. Denise does a great job.
Enjoyed everything about this restaurant. Had a drink at the bar before dinner> we got there early so we can have a drink. The bartender was very knowledgeable and very informative. When we decided to let them know we were ready for our table we sat right down. For an appetizer my wife and I shared the pork belly. It was outstanding. One of the best appetizers we have ever had. And we go to dinner at least one a weekend, and often times twice. Typically this type of place. For my meal I had the hanger steak. This is a default meal I get when I am new to a restaurant. Again, this was not a mistake. The steak was done perfectly medium rare. And the potatoes that came with it very fantastic. Best hanger steak I have ever had. My wife had the bone in filet medallions. Those were also very good. And the perfect size for her. This was my first visit to 151 but it will not be the last.
Getting the reservation was easy. They were accommodating when 1/2 the party was on time and 1/2 was 10 min. late. The drinks and food were delicious. There were multiple servers and staff at our table to ask if we needed anything. It did take a long time to get our meal though. Long enough to be noticeable. I would try it again.
We got seated right away. One of my guests had food sensitivities so he had the server explain exactly what was in the dish. Unfortunately, the young server didn’t explain what ingredients were there and when he received his plate with corn on it, he couldn’t eat it. So we had to send it back. Wish the servers were more knowledgeable. What we did get was fine. It was a little disappointing that no one came by to apologize. For the price I was hoping for a bit more professionalism.
Hi There. Thank you so much for the feedback. I'm sorry we weren't able to meet your needs on your food sensitivities. We do mention as many ingredients on the menu as possible in order to avoid issues with allergies, etc. Rest assured, our servers do go thru a detailed training, ongoing, to ensure we are providing them with the knowledge of the menu needed to give guests an exceptional experience. See you soon!
Everything was good about the food. A little to loud though
Incredible food and service. The desserts are TOTALLY worth it.
Very good gluten free options. Also nice place to go with friends. Wednesday night martini special $6. Will be back
Service was great and the ambiance was too. Our appetizers were very good. Drinks were excellent. However, our meals were a little lackluster. We ordered the falafel burger and a chicken sandwich, both were dry and flavorless. The fries were not seasoned great and the macaroni also didn’t feel creamy/cheesy with flavor. Overall, food was missing some flavor and consistency.
Went for lunch. Dad said it was the best Crab Benedict he ever had. Loved it! Great Old Fashioned too. Good burger, nice Brie cheese and super BLT with egg. Service was a little slow as they had a big group in the back. Otherwise great! We’ll be back.
While I like this restaurant, our last experience was very disappointing--slow service to begin with; then we received our starters, but the main course came almost immediately so the timing was very poor. Also, our waitress told us they were out of the entres we chose, forcing us to make second choices, only to come back and say they actually had one of them. Finally, the dish we chose was pretty dry and not up to the standards I have come to expect from this restaurant.
Hi Sally. Thank you so much for your patronage! I'm sorry your last experience wasn't the best, we certainly will follow up with our team. Please come back soon so you can update your review with what we know will be an awesome experience!
We were a group of 5 adults and 2 children. Our server was friendly and professional. Our drinks and appetizers came out quickly. Our entrees were another story - the server was very good about letting us know the status of the food, such as telling us when it was plated, but it took quite a while for the entrees to come out. It wasn't even terribly busy. The food, when it arrived, was overall very good. P.S> Do not miss the banana bread appetizer!
The scallops were outrageously expensive at $29.00 for three small sized scallops and the accompanying risotto tasted like paste. The iced tea was $4.00 for a very medium size glass. The service was not the best as the server did not come over once during the whole meal to see if either party wanted a refill or new item. I️ personally will not eat at this restaurant again and will not recommend to anyone
Hi Robin. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We definitely encourage guests who are unhappy with their experience to inform us while they are still with us. In regards to your review, scallops are expensive and we price these items to move as we bring them in fresh daily. I'm sorry to hear about the risotto, will definitely review with the team. Ice Tea price is standard, but you didn't get refills, very sorry. We wish you the best in your future dining experiences!
Great place - ambiance is wonderful! Food was so good the appetizer were awesome.
We tried several of them and all of them were so flavorful and fresh! Service was excellent.
We came to One Fifty One to celebrate our friend's upcoming wedding. We had planned to eat dinner here, which we did not. I had to ask the hostess to send over my server after waiting for 15 minutes for her to stop by the table. It took 20 minutes to receive my drink order. The service was beyond slow so we decided we would not eat dinner there. We did order a few appetizers, which came out before everyone else received their drinks. The restaurant was somewhat busy but not every table was filled. Even if every table was filled, it should not take 15 minutes for a server to come to the table or 20 minutes to get a drink.
Hi Katie. Im sorry to hear that you had to wait longer than is appropriate for your sever. We did do over 250 covers that evening so the restaurant was in full swish and a bit hectic, which I apologize for. I hope your will come back and give us another try during a non-event weekend! Thanks for the feedback, I will share with my team. All the best.
We will never go back
We were charged for 3 drinks we didn’t order
Brought it to managers attention and they didn’t even apologize
Will not recommend to anyone
Hi Karen. The gentlemen at the table did come speak to me away from the table, which I did apologize for and immediately removed from the tab, no questions asked. As for your service review, you did join us during Rock The Block, our street festival, things tend to get a bit hectic, which I do apologize for. I hope you will give us another try on a normal weekend so we can show you how terrific our service normally is. Take Care.
Had a great family dinner. Food was excellent and service was great.
Meghan was fantastic connecting with us as customers. Authentically friendly! I definitely will recommend this restaurant: food was fantastic at well!
some things would need to change to recommend. Food always need flavoring, our meals were bland. We were there during Rock the Block which we were unaware of making it a stressful experience. It was also an anniversary dinner and we were seated in the main aisle to the kitchen....not very romantic. Our waitress disappeared for almost 20 minutes during middle of meal, I had to get busboy to get us drinks. other than that...……….I had high hopes which were not achieved.
Hi Steve. You are correct, it was a very busy Rock the Block. We always try to accommodate guests with celebrations, however, it's not always obtainable on very busy nights. We always recommend a call in advance to ensure we can accommodate special needs in regards to seating. Of course, it was not our intention to provide your with a stressful experience. I hope you will give us another try in the near future. Take Care.
Food very good but service was lethargic
Hubs & I wanted to try One Fifty One as we are thinking of moving nearby. Our server was awesome, attentive, and our appetizers were very tasty.
Great food and atmosphere. I’d go again to try more items on the gluten free menu!
Food was just fair. Outside dining smelly and noisy
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal as much as we would have hoped! Would love to hear more about what you dined on.....151elmhurst@gmail Unfortunately we cannot control traffic or smells from the outside. I would suggest dining indoors next time. Thanks in advance.
Great atmosphere, food and drinks were delicious. Had a terrific server named Megan, she took great care of us.
Great food, nice menu and excellent service. The only negative was the outside patio was very tight quarters.
The waitress and staff were very attentive and made recommendations.
I was looking for a place to celebrate my birthday with my family and I was told this would be a nice place.
Everyone was so nice
The food was excellent
Would come back when back in town 😁😊
Started with pork belly, incredible flavor & cooked to perfection. Also had the baked beer with figs, walnuts & jalapeno honey (don't let the name scare you - it was not HOT)
The place looks great, food is awesome, but I did not feel welcomed when I walked in and being served. I was alone but I did not think this fact will play a difference. Next time I will bring manikin with me maybe I will be treated a bit better. No, just kidding, there will be no next time. I ordered the most expensive dish on the menu, I left a handsome tip., I am not coming back there again. I love good food, I don't mind spending ridiculous money on good food but I do care for the atmosphere as much as I do food!