The Hare & Hounds
- Desinfektion von Oberflächen nach jedem Gast
- Gemeinschaftliche Bereiche werden täglich gründlich gereinigt
- Digitales, desinfiziertes oder Einweg-Menü
- Desinfektionsmittel oder Reinigungstücher für Kunden
- Kontaktlose Zahlung möglich
- Verwendung von eingeschweißten oder verpackten Utensilien
- Begrenzte Anzahl sitzender Gäste
- Abstandhalten in gemeinschaftlichen Bereichen
- Zusätzlicher Platz zwischen den Tischen
- Servicepersonal trägt Mundschutz
- Krankes Personal am Arbeitsplatz verboten
- Überprüfung der Temperatur des Personals
- Sammlung von Informationen zur Kontaktverfolgung
Lovely surroundings and beautiful inside, clean and tidy and staff very accommodating. 2 of our party of 5 ordered the fish and chips which was a very good portion for 1 and very tasty, 2 of us ordered the pork belly which was very tasty but unfortunately needed salt as was under seasoned and the portion was very small so felt hungry afterwards. 1 ordered the pasta which was a good portion and very tasty. 2 of the party ordered the chocolate brownie dessert and it was very good, and 1 ordered the treacle tart which unfortunately had a very hard pastry case difficult to cut through. Overall a good experience but could have been better and in my opinion the food is a little over priced for the standard and portions.
We were regulars to the pub, in the past a few times a week. Since Juan, Lauren and Emma left, we haven’t enjoyed it as much and found the service to be hit and miss with all of the new students. Nathan and Hannah are always very lovely, but there has been too much staff turnover elsewhere. However, the lady that was working front of house last night was superb and clearly experienced. We felt welcome, looked after and attended. Following on, the young waitress (whom has served us before) was and always has been fantastic. A cut above the rest in my opinion. We will make the effort to start booking our usual table a couple of times a week again from now on.
Warm welcome. A window table with a view, that had been requested, was ready for us on arrival. Range of good value pub food on the menu. Friendly, authentic serving-team. Good buzz and atmosphere even on a Monday evening. I would strongly recommend a visit.
Overcharged by waitress . Bill was split 3 ways. Didn’t realise until we got back to our accommodation. They got extra £6.21 from us. Ordered apple tart and got treacle instead. Not sure if waitress knew what she was doing
The moment we walked in the staff were very friendly and helpful. Couldn’t ask for better service, and the food was fantastic.
Beautiful setting and busy establishment but overall very disappointed with the food on offer. The menu was very limited and had little by way of vegetarian or fish options. The pasta dish selected which catered for my vegetarian partner was inedible and subsequently turned back after an initial tasting. Truly dreadful plate of food.
In fairness to the floor manager she did waive the cost of the dish selected and gave us a free drink by way of apology but it didn't really compensate for the poor quality of the food.
Incredible service, really went out their way to accommodate, and food was delicious.
Despite booking a table for Sunday lunch over a month ago for a long weekend in Bath, when we arrived we were shown to a table away from the main dining area in an empty conservatory. Staff seemed overrun and were unhelpful, advising all other tables had been reserved in advance! Left without dinning. Far better places to go in Bath with great food and helpful staff. Do yourself a favour and don’t bother with this place.
Great view of countryside sitting on the terrace. Vegan nut roast was very good. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
Service was very very slow. It took us 45 minutes to get our drinks and our starters came out before our drinks did. The duck was very over cooked and chewy as well as being over salted- potatoes very over salted too. Appreciate they were short staffed but waits were too long and food was not satisfactory. We are not ones to complain and we thought about it a lot and decided not to in the end as we weren’t going to wait another hour for three duck breasts to be cooked. Duck breast is cooked to taste and this was not asked.
Delicious food and drinks. Excellent service. Would recommend.
Excellent location, excellent service and food. The views from the back of the pub are outstanding. Well worth a visit
Great dinner with our guest from Sweden. They really liked the atmosphere and the food
For starters we waited 20 mins for someone to take our drink orders and the restaurant wasn’t even busy. If we hadn’t been in town as tourists, we would have gotten up and left. Dirty plates were on other tables, no one seemed to care about them. Once we finished with the sharing board (starter) nobody came to take it away, it was on the table up until we were half way through the main course. The scenery was breathtaking, the food was okay, but the service was very poor…
The staff were excellent, it was very busy but servers didn’t rush us and they were very welcoming. Good menu, large portions, freshly cooked and prepared and tasted great. Would highly recommend.
Although a Wednesday evening it was really busy which accounts for the noise level but also shows the quality of the food. 2 of our party had fish and chips which were really fresh and tasty. All the food was of a very high standard and the staff were helpful and friendly. A really good evening with friends.
Hi Hilary, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review and a five star rating! Hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Hannah
I love this pub - good food and atmosphere - the service has improved
Very good venue - good food, good position. Recommended.
Amelie was a lovely attentive waitress and the whole team helped make the whole experience wonderful. Compliments to the team of amazing chefs
Never disappointed here and I come here often! Service and food always excellent.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!
The setting is lovely. Food a bit of a let down. Out of the party of four everyone thought the food was just ok. I think perhaps because everything was too salty and my salad had lots of raw onion in it which was hard to pick out.
Maybe they was having an off day? The servers were very nice so and attentive.
Eat regularly but a little disappointed this time with breakfast. Had to send toast back as been warmed too long & inedible & no ketchup in stock.
Hi Alan, I'm sorry that your experience with breakfast was disappointing this time around. We will work even harder to insure we meet the standards that you have grown accustomed to. My apologies for the lack of ketchup, we have had a few issues with suppliers who are struggling with staffing levels. As a result we sometimes don't receive everything we order. Kind regards, The Hare and Hounds Team
Fantastic Sunday roast. We had a sharing roast which included all the meats cooked to perfection and all the trimmings were delicious. Limited options for non roast eaters but husband is now a convert to a roast. Son in law had a fabulous burger. Lots of crackling with the melting pork. We sat outside as there was more room for 5 of us . Views are stunning. Big shout out to the lovely staff. We will be back soon.
Hi Jayne, Thank you so much for such a wonderful, it really warms the heart to hear that we are delivering experiences such as these for our guests. With the hospitality industry harder pressed than ever this summer it is reviews like these that show the team that all their hard work is worth it when it comes to guest satisfaction. Have a wonderful rest of your week, we can't wait to see you again! Kind regards, Nathan (Assistant Manager)
We have been here before for family occasions first time for Sunday roast. We had the sharing platter which was nice but we felt overpriced. We like our vegetables to be hard but you couldn’t even put our fork in the carrots they were literally raw. We opted for 2 portions of pigs in blankets however for a party of 7 we didn’t all get one and that cost £8 extra. Would go again but not on a Sunday for roast.
My vegetarian breakfast contained two vegetarian sausages and a pork sausage. Staff took away my breakfast but just popped all my vege food onto another plate! The sausages were cremated and dry, the spinach was the tiniest amount and my poached egg was solid and so over cooked.
My friends eggs were also rock hard not soft
My drink was completely forgotten and my friends flat white came in two completely different sized cups
Hi, I would like to offer you my deepest apologies, this is not the level of service that we expect from our team. I have messaged you privately so we can discuss the issue further and try to find a way to show just how much we want to make up for what was clearly a disappointing experience. Kind regards, Nathan (Assistant Manager)
Good food, friendly staff, nice place with great views. Not a fan of a place that puts service charge onto the bill though.
The food was not as good as it has been previously. Soup was too salty it was inedible; the chicken was dry; the squid was overly cooked and just crunchy. Service wasn’t bad but the food has gone downhill.
We had a lovely dinner and the staff as well as the food was wonderful!
Hi Jill, Thank you for such a wonderful review, I'm so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and we can't wait to welcome you back! Kind regards, Nathan (Assistant Manager)
Amazing service, food was outstanding. Genuinely best pub fish and chips I've ever had
Hi Alex, Thank you so much for your review it is so lovely to hear that you had such a good time! I will pass on the comment on the fish and chips to our chef team! We can't wait to welcome you back again!
Gorgeous pub in a beautiful setting with telly friendly staff. Unfortunately our food was a bit disappointing as what we got on our plates was not quite what was described on the menu. We did bring this up with staff and they tried to rectify it but it was little late in terms of flavours being mixed already. We would go back as I’m sure the other food would be nice and the views from the gardens make it worth it.
Great service. Good food and value. Super view from window table.
Hi Will, Thank you so much for your amazing review!
Student staff and our waiter said we could not taste the wine, said they did not have a certain sauce, when they did, and knew nothing about the wine list. Also took a long time for drinks to arrive when ordered in the middle of our meal. Food was good although steak was overpriced and I was not offered option of fries with meal when we saw another tables steak arrive with fries opposed to thick chips like chip shop style.
Thanks for the great service . The lady served us really well.
Hi Paul, It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time with us! Amelie is one of our very best so it is no surprise at all to hear that she looked after you so well. We really can't wait to have you back at the pub! Kind regards, Nathan (Assistant Manager)
Overall this was a very enjoyable occasion. The table was in the covered area outside which they had arranged because I had booked in advance and the views there are spectacular so the environment is fabulous. The service was excellent- everyone was very friendly and although we waited quite a while for our meal, we weren’t in a hurry and were happy with responses to our requests if something was needed. The service staff were very welcoming to our dogs as well. The food was good. My sisters really enjoyed the baked Camembert and Halloumi salad but I thought my Aubergine salad was a bit mean. The aubergine was tasty and well cooked but presented as steaks with the ends left on (the knives were too blunt to cut them off) but the kimchi salad and rice was literally a few mouthfuls. It compared poorly with the Camembert sharing board at roughly the same price. Desserts were lovely but the treacle tart was mainly pastry (the treacle had sunk) so again a bit unsatisfying. So, very tasty food but even though you don’t want to overeat at lunchtime, the helpings were, in some cases, on the small side for the price. Nevertheless, an enjoyable experience.
Hi Clare, First of all I would like to say how happy I am to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience, that is, after all, the reason why we do this job! I am a little disappointed that we weren't able to give you a perfect lunch as a result of a few issues with some of the dishes. I have escalated these issues to the head chef and we will review everything you have said to try and iron out the kinks. We can't wait to have you back again so that we can improve on this! The H+H team.
Service slow we felt ignored
Things plonked on table
No reasonable soft drinks
Food was fantastic
Great location and lovely outside space although does lose the sun by 7 (Sept)
Staff were not very efficient and lacked attention - not seeming to care. No cutlery brought to table, had to ask for serviette - big sigh when asked for condiments
Took over 15 mins to bring a pint plus glass of wine.
Food was only OK. Fish was tasty but basic out of freezer bag chips were tasteless. My partners burger was no better
Hi there, I'm so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to the standard that we expect! This review highlights the need for more training and I will be addressing this with our team. In terms of the food I have escalated this to our head chef and we really hope that you will be back in order for us to show you what we can truly do! Kind regards, The Hare and Hounds Team.
The food at The Hare and Hounds was very good and the staff were very helpful when we had to make a last minute change to the time of our booking.
However the starters failed to arrive and only 3 of the 4 mail meals came and it became clear that they had not been ordered. We got the starters whilst we were eating our main meals and the 4th main meal arrived when everyone else had finished eating.
The cost of the starters and 1 main meal were removed from the bill but the experience was spoilt by the chaos.
Lovely views, however the service wasn't the best. Short staffed, food took quite some time.
Hi Louise, We're so glad you enjoyed your food! I will let the kitchen know that they did a good job! I thank you for you understanding that we were short staffed, and this led to a longer than usual wait time, as I'm sure you are aware this is an industry wide problem and we do appreciate our guest's patience. I really hope this doesn't prevent you from giving us another chance as when we have a full contingent of staff we strive to offer our guests the best experience possible! - The H+H Team.
I always love it there - we need to be patient regarding consistency of staff though !! One of our waitresses was very flaky!
Hi there, Firstly, thank you so much for your review, it is lovely to hear that you had such a good time. We are working extra hard to insure that every member of our team is able to consistently deliver the level of service we expect all our guests to experience. Thank you for drawing our attention to this lack of consistency. We use instances like these as training opportunities and will redouble our efforts to develop our team. Kind regards, The Hare and Hounds team
We made a booking online for my mums 75th birthday celebration. On the reservation we requested a table outside close to the play area with a chair for my mums bad back. When we arrived we were informed they don't take reservations outside and that a chair was not possible. We were then told you can only order pizza when down near the play area. Needless to say a special birthday celebration was very disappointed due to lack of communication for the pub. If we had been told at the time of making the reservation that this was the policy we would have made alternative arrangements. Very disappointed with the staff's unwillingness to assist.
The food however was excellent but we were forced to sit upstairs.
The Hare & Hounds wird von 1666 OpenTable‑Gästen mit 4.4 Sternen bewertet.
Ja, Sie können üblicherweise in diesem Restaurant reservieren, indem Sie auf OpenTable Datum, Uhrzeit und Personenzahl wählen. Aufgrund lokaler Einschränkungen nimmt dieses Restaurant derzeit möglicherweise keine Reservierungen entgegen.