Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Zum Hauptinhalt springen
OpenTable-Logo
  1. Startseite
  2. Vereinigtes Königreich
  3. Bath / Somerset
  4. Bath
  5. Bath
The Hare & Hounds, Bath, Somerset

The Hare & Hounds

4.1
4.1
2273 Bewertungen
26 bis 40 Britische Pfund
Britisch
Top-Etiketten:
  • Malerische Aussicht
  • Essen im Außenbereich
  • Ideal für Mittagessen
In einem beeindruckenden Steinhaus mit Bilderbuch-Aussicht auf die Landschaft bietet Ihnen das The Hare and Hounds britische Gerichte und Pub-Klassiker. Maishuhn, Rosmarin-Frühlingslamm und gereifte Steaks sind nur einige der Klassiker in diesem Gastro-Pub in Bath. Speisen Sie im Freien, inmitten des beeindruckenden Grüns im Garten oder im Inneren und genießen Sie dazu einen Tropfen von der umfangreichen Weinkarte.

Tisch reservieren

2 Personen

19:00


Heute einmal reserviert

Zusätzliche Informationen

  • Restaurantart

    Zwangloses Restaurant

  • Küchen

    Britisch, Moderne europäische Küche

  • Öffnungszeiten

    Mo–Fr 8:30 Uhr–10:30 Uhr Sa, So 9:00 Uhr–22:30 Uhr

  • Telefonnummer

    01225 482682

  • Zahlungsmethoden

    American Express, MasterCard, Visa

  • Kleidung

    Legere Kleidung

  • Küchenchef

    Jonathan Murphy

  • Räume für private Veranstaltungen

    The Library has a private dining space for up to 12 people, plus an adjoining lounge area for drinks.

  • Gebiet

    Bath

  • Details zu Parkplätzen

    Our private car park holds around 20 cars, plus there is plenty of on street parking.

  • Weitere Details

    Aussicht, Bier, Biergarten, Cocktails, Kamin, Komplette Bar, Nebenräume, Nichtraucher, Terrasse/Im Freien, Terrasse/Im Freien, Wein, Wochenendbrunch

Was 2.273 Gäste sagen

Bewertungen insgesamt

Bewertungen können nur von Gästen gemacht werden, die in diesem Restaurant gegessen haben.

4.1
4,1 basierend auf den neuesten Bewertungen
  • 4,1Essen
  • 4,2Service
  • 4,2Ambiente
  • 3,8Preis-Leistung

LärmLebhaft

Besonders beliebt

  • Bath / Somerset

    Kinderfreundlich

  • Bath / Somerset

    Essen im Außenbereich

  • Bath / Somerset

    Malerische Aussicht

  • Bath / Somerset

    Am häufigsten gebucht

  • Bath

    Für Gruppen geeignet

  • Bath

    Gesund

  • Bath

    Ideal für Mittagessen

  • Bath

    Nachbarschafts-Restaurant

  • Bath

    Essen im Außenbereich

  • Bath

    Am häufigsten gebucht

Sortieren nach

Filter

  1. HK

    HelenK

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 1 Tag besucht

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The fish pie special was magnificent and extraordinarily generous. A beautiful view even on a rainy day, this venue is my favourite for meeting friends from the north
  2. EV

    ElizabethV

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 2 Tagen besucht

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    We had a lovely mid week dinner at the Hare and Hounds. Fantastic views over Bath, excellent food and service. A very critical American who believes you can’t get a good burger outside the USA was pleasantly proved wrong.

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHi Elizabeth, Thank you for bringing your guest to a lovely meal with us. I'm so glad you made the most of our views, food, and service, three things we really pride ourselves on. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  3. D

    Dimitry

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 4 Tagen besucht

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    Food was great unfortunately half of the menu were not available (last service). The staff was really nice. The place is quiet. Tables are not too close. I would like to come back to try the others dishes.

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHi Dimitry, Thank you for the great review! I'm aware of the issues you described about some dishes running out far too soon, so I'm so pleased the rest of your experience more than made up for it. Please accept my apologies for this but I'm glad our nice staff and easygoing ambience gave you an enjoyable visit. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  4. SR

    SR82

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 4 Tagen besucht

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Great location. Good looking pub. Cracking views. But bad timing!! Visited on Sunday evening for birthday celebration. But run out of all but one roasts, run out of a couple of sides, one starter and then when asked if could give us a discounted alternative option (given small menu and A LOT missing), they got funny about it. Also, did nothing to make it special for my mum’s 70th birthday! If you choose to have a small menu, then make sure you have enough food to cater until end of service. A shame. I imagine if go in day, it would be much better. Disappointing this time around, and a shame to be honest. Had a lot of promise.

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts after your visit with us. I'm aware of the issues you described and we have been working diligently to identify how these issues have occured and to ensure there won't be any repeats. I certainly empathise with your frustrations and I do hope you can accept my apologies. I hope you'll keep us in mind for a future meal out in order to give us the opportunity to impress. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  5. M

    Mrsdlw

    Bristol

    8 Bewertungen

    5.0

    8 Bewertungen

    Vor 4 Tagen besucht

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    Gorgeous pub, and really fantastic roast dinners. Food is a little pricey but its a fab location and was extremely tasty!

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHi there, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself with us and made the most of our beautiful setting, and 'tasty' food :) Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  6. m

    mmmmmm

    London

    1 Bewertung

    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 5 Tagen besucht

    overall2food1service1ambience3
    Beautiful building and setting. Unfortunately the food was well below expectations, very expensive and we had to send things back. Such a shame as it's a beautiful location. Work on service and food.. Lower your prices £18 for a tiny pot of inedible mussels is ridiculous. Also, in the West country would expect more than 1 cider available.

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback - it's appreciated so that we can identify where we can continue to make improvements. I'm pleased to inform we have improved our mussels dish on the back of your feedback, and we do have bottled cider also. I do apologise your experience with us wasn't up to the standard we can deliver, and I hope you'll give us another chance to impress. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  7. PT

    PamelaT

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Vor 7 Tagen besucht

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We were fortunate to have a window seat and watched the sun go down as we ate. Beautiful location and really excellent food and service. We dined early and the restaurant was pleasantly quiet.

    The Hare & HoundsHeute geantwortetHi Pamela, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you chose us to help celebrate your special occasion, and I'm similarly thrilled we were able to meet the occasion for your! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Joe (A.M.)

  8. SC

    SamuelC

    London

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 28. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautiful food, nice atmosphere. And the view is great.

    The Hare & HoundsVor 4 Tagen geantwortetHi Sam, Thanks very much for your amazing 5* review! We do pride ourselves here in all that you mentioned so I'm so glad we were able to deliver you such a great experience. See you again soon, Joe (A.M.)

  9. VV

    VickiV

    Raum New York

    2 Bewertungen

    5.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 27. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    After taking a lovely pub walk that started from the Hound & Hare we had a fabulous lunch.

    The Hare & HoundsVor 4 Tagen geantwortetHi Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review - I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the beautiful countryside that we're blessed to be surrounded by, and thank you for choosing us as your walking destination! Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  10. FL

    FionaL

    London

    2 Bewertungen

    5.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 27. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Lovely food, absolutely stunning view despite the rain. Perfect way to end our few days in Bath.

    The Hare & HoundsVor 7 Tagen geantwortetHi Fiona, Thank you for the lovely review, and we really appreciate you choosing our venue as a capstone to your special weekend. Thanks again! Joe (A.M.)

  11. LM

    LMorton

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Really lovely experience - with fantastic food and superb portions. Kids' and adults' dishes alike were of great quality. A very busy pub, but staff friendly, accommodating and professional. All credit to them
  12. b

    barries

    1 Bewertung

    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. September 2022

    overall2food1service1ambience4
    Sending burnt food back to the kitchen and overhearing the chef telling the waiter that it was as supposed to be like that!! I’m not a chef but I do know if nut roast has to be smashed up rather than cut up, and it’s black on the bottom it’s burnt and overcooked!!!!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. September 2022Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you had to overhear this unfortunate exchange, and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention. I will be discussing your review with the relevant team members to ensure this isn't repeated. I know this may be of little solace to you know but I wanted to assure you that your concerns will be addressed. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  13. DW

    DoraW

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 24. September 2022

    overall3food2service4ambience5
    Venue is gorgeous. I had fish and chips, the batter was incredibly greasy. My husband had the special which was a plate of over powering flavours and very fatty pork. We both ended up feeling pretty sick However, i would give it another try

    The Hare & HoundsVor 7 Tagen geantwortetHi Dora, Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to read you'll be returning, we are soon to move to our autumn menu so there should be plenty of exciting new dishes for you to enjoy. Sorry to see that you were unhappy with your food - please don't hesitate to alert a staff member as we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you on the day. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  14. M

    Mike

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 23. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great venue, great view, great food, great service - will definitely return!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. September 2022Hi Mike, Thanks for the great review and lovely comments! We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  15. MD

    MikD

    Bath

    2 Bewertungen

    4.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 22. September 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience3
    Enjoyable meal in a busy environment. Service cheerful and attentive without being over the top, although the latter might be down to how busy the place was. All three of us enjoyed the meals we chose. Not sure if there is sufficient choice for vegetarians (one of us was) but no complaints over the specific item that we had.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. September 2022Hi, Thanks very much for your great review and accompanying feedback. I'm very pleased to read you felt so well looked after despite how busy the restaurant, and that you all enjoyed your dishes. I'm also pleased to inform that we have reviewed our menu due to yours (and a couple others) comments and we are increasing the number of vegetarian dishes available. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  16. J

    Jotrainsu

    Cambridge

    5 Bewertungen

    VIP
    3.0

    5 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 22. September 2022

    overall3food2service1ambience2
    Moved to Lansdown a year ago & loved the H&H but exhausted the menu quite quickly. It has barely changed in a year sadly. Ordered mussels at 6pm & unavailable. Overall mine food. Returned for brunch today - ordered eggs royale & it was delivered with untrimmed smoked salmon with black bits & silver skkn - very unappetising so sent it back. It was rectified but both the eggs royale & florentine strongly tasted of vinegar …. Very disappointing. Also the waitress seemed a bit clueless & spilled my partners latte in the saucer & on the table & didn’t offer to sort out So disappointed as it’s on our doorstep & a lovely building & view - a waste. We eat out a lot & would be great to have better quality available locally

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. September 2022Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We do completely overhaul our menu seasonally, coupled with updates every few weeks so there will always be new dishes to try. Our pub classics/burgers/steaks remain the same or similar however. We will have our new autumn menu finalised within the week so I do hope you'll give us another chance soon! Please accept my apologies for the issues with your meals which we regrettably weren't able to fix for you during your stay. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  17. GS

    GeorgiaS

    Bristol

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 18. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Booked Sunday lunch for a catch up with friends and it was perfect. The food was amazing- the beef was perfectly cooked! The wine was great, the ambience cosy, and the waiting staff hospitable and friendly. The Hare and Hounds is on the pricier side but the food is outstanding so I can understand why.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 22. September 2022Hi Georgia, Thanks for your lovely review! So pleased to read you felt so well looked after and enjoyed our lovely roasts. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  18. A

    Awkwardcustomer

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 16. September 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience4
    Very good overall. One of the party has rare food intolerances, the menu was written very clearly and the staff were very accommodating in swapping items so that everyone could enjoy their meal. Thank you

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 22. September 2022Hi there, Thanks very much for the kind review! Always more than happy to accommodate any dietary requirements or preferences so it's really no problem. You're very welcome, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  19. i

    icejunky

    Bath

    38 Bewertungen

    VIP
    2.0

    38 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 11. September 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    Disappointing all round really. I would still recommend because usually I have a good experience here.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 16. September 2022Hi icejunky, Thank you for your feedback - I'm so sorry to read your last visit with us was disappointing. We do typically get good reviews from you so I'm glad we have enough good will that you'll be returning. I'm sure your next visit with us will be back to our usual standard. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  20. D

    Dscott

    Bristol

    1 Bewertung

    1.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 11. September 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience3
    Gnocchi was swimming in pesto and could not taste anything else. I like pesto but this was a truly awful dish. This was a expensive dish considering there was no meat and I felt like the few mouthfuls i ate was just eating a jar of pesto. Not once was we asked how are food was, even after she collected the dishes and could see I hadn't eaten anything. After we had finished our food the waitress walked past our table multiple times and didn't clear away the food. We waited far to long for this to be done. We didn't get asked if we wanted another drink when glasses where empty. At the end I asked for the service charge to be taken off the bill, another opportunity for the staff to ask how are food was etc and still was not asked. I wont come back and I would not recomend.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 16. September 2022Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback - please do accept my apologies that your dish and service fell far below the high standards we aim for. We have hired new staff recently with a large number leaving to return to university which might explain, but not excuse, the level of service you received. I will explain that as the service on the bill is discretionary we do not question if a customer asks for it to be removed. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  21. T

    Tbur

    Berkshire

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 11. September 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely views, food and atmosphere! Will return soon!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 16. September 2022Hi there, Thanks for the amazing five star review! I'm so glad you all enjoyed yourselves with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  22. L

    Louise

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 4. September 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    Lovely food, much enjoyed. Some of us arrived late so we overran our booking slot and had to move outside for coffee, which was perfect on a nice day with a beautiful view (we just missed the later rain though!). This was our first visit and we wish we had visited this gastro pub much earlier!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 6. September 2022Hi Louise, Thank you very much for your great review and kind words. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some lovely food inside, and then some coffees with the amazing view afterwards. Don't worry about missing out on previous visits, there's hopefully plenty more future visits to come! Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  23. NC

    NicholasC

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 3. September 2022

    overall3food4service1ambience3
    We were given a voucher as a Christmas present, Dec '21. We've not had the chance to use it until the weekend, we tried to book Sunday dinner but that wasn't possible for the time we wanted so we opted for a Saturday lunchtime. The food was good, we both enjoyed it but the service was not really up to much and after learning that Malibu wasn't on offer and that the diet coke was only off the pump, my wife was restricted on what to order so opted for a Rose Lemonade, "without" ice but her drink came with plenty of ice, the waitress apologised for this but quite honestly, we made a point of this and she still forgot within a matter of minutes. We were offered a bottle of tap water but she forgot that and I finally had to ask for that after waiting for 10-15 minutes to see if it was forthcoming. I used the salt and pepper at the table and the pepper grinder was "sticky" and given the fact we've come out of a pandemic, I was surprised that this kind of thing is being allowed to happen, the place just doesn't feel overly clean, yes, the table tops are wiped but maybe that is all. I didn't use the toilets but my wife did and she said that quite frankly they were disgusting, loose toilet seat/ maybe even not attached, no toilet paper in the actual toilet although there was some in the actual room, just not where it should be, paper towels all over the floor so it would seem that someone isn't bothering to check this. I'm not given to giving negative feedback on a place and I want to make it clear that the actual food we ate was very nice although at 2pm, they'd run out of both of the 2 best deserts, Sticky Toffee and a Chocolate Gnache which considering the time of day, I imagine that there were alot of disappointed customers. To run out of stock that early in the day is pretty poor to be honest. I'm happy to speak to someone if they want to contact me. I'd recommend it but would warn people of what we found, just in case they feel let down by a recommendation I made.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 6. September 2022Hi Nicholas, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm very pleased to read you all enjoyed the delicious food here. Please accept my apologies otherwise for the mistakes made by your server which caused such frustration. We have hired some new junior staff members recently who are fully trained but currently gaining on-the-job experience which may explain the issue with the ice. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  24. C

    Christinet4

    Bath

    5 Bewertungen

    4.0

    5 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 2. September 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Everything about our visit was great, except we were persuaded to order a chocolate ice cream for our gorgeous black labrador but it was out of stock!! He was soooo disappointed!!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 6. September 2022Hi Christine, Please accept my sincerest of apologies to your lovely pooch that we let him down this time! I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves otherwise and I know that our staff would have looked after your four-legged friend as they often do. Thank you very much, Joe (A.M.)

  25. SH

    SarahH

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    3.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 1. September 2022

    overall3food2service4ambience3
    The Hare and Hounds has many qualities including a car park, being outside of Bath city centre, fabulous views and in so in many ways a 'no brainer' option for me and my friends to meet. I have found that the service can be really attentive, and this included last night where the staff found they could re-allocate us to the table I requested online, even though it was last minute, and I really appreciated their attention to detail and willingness to sort us out, so happily. But, I have found the food rather disappointing. The time before last night, I had the most atrocious teaser salad. Rather than having croutons in the salad it had massive stale hunks of bread that were inedible and more of one ingredient and none of another but I can't remember what it was now. However, I was so disappointed I couldn't even tell anyone. I left about 50% of it on my plate. Last night I had slightly undercooked broccoli and rather dry potatoe pie alongside the hake (which was nice) and a rather paltry salsa. My husband is an amazing cook so I am thoroughly spoilt by his dishes but I do think that when I'm paying for a meal it needs to be at least as good as home cooking!!!!!!!!!! On the other hand the sticky toffee pudding was amazing. I would recommend Hare and Hounds but with caveats at the moment,.....

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 6. September 2022Hi Sarah, Thank you for your review and your much-appreciated feedback. I'm very glad you continue to enjoy our good service. Please accept my apologies however that your dishes were not enjoyable recently. I'm pleased to inform you that we are shortly moving to our autumn menu which we are all very excited about, so I do hope you'll visit us again soon to give us another chance to impress you - sounds like we have some tough competition with your husband! Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  26. AM

    AlistairM

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 30. August 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience2
    Based on my perception of my experience: Friendly but inefficient service. Menu not extensive and some items not available. Food average, nothing to shot home about, sent some back as it was cold. Kids fruit and ice cream dessert was brilliant.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 2. September 2022Hi Alistair, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is of course always appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the friendly service you received and your little ones enjoyed their puddings, but please accept my apologies for the rest which added up to leave you dissatisfied after your visit with us. We are changing our menu quite shortly for Autumn so I do hope you'll give us another chance to impress. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  27. CT

    ChristinaT

    London

    3 Bewertungen

    5.0

    3 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 29. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Breakfast on Saturday with young children. Food arrived quickly, service prompt and thoughtful - including offering children drawing pencils and paper. Outdoor climbing area for children to visit enjoy!

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 2. September 2022Hi Christina, Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad we were able to make your visit so memorable, and we are very much looking forward to your next visit. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  28. C

    Christinet4

    Bath

    5 Bewertungen

    4.0

    5 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 28. August 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    We would have preferred to have eaten at 1pm or later in the evening but 5.30 was the only time available. Other than that, all was very good.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 2. September 2022Hi Christine, Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad you all enjoyed yourselves. Unfortunately as you discovered our Sundays are very busy to please make sure you book further in advance for your next visit to ensure a higher chance of your preferred time being available. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    5.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 27. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    My daughter ‘s birthday was amazing

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 30. August 2022Hi there, Thank you so much for the 5* review! I'm honoured that you chose us to celebrate your daughter's special day and I'm so glad we were able to rise to the occasion for you. I very much hope you'll keep us in mind for another celebration soon. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  30. C

    Clemmie

    Devon

    2 Bewertungen

    3.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 27. August 2022

    overall3food1service4ambience4
    So, Salade Nicoise, referred to numerous times on the internet, is a French salad made with tuna, green beans, hard boiled eggs, potatoes and olives. Both our Salad Nicoise at £14.50 + an extra £3.50 for chicken and £3.00 for one piece of grilled haloumi were very overpriced. The salad did not include tuna and didn't taste of much at all with an egg, a few boiled potatoes, red onion and some dressed leaves. On the other hand, the fish, chips & peas were very tasty but a little pricey at £17. I felt that food prices were charging for the view somewhat. The menu could have been more adventurous. I keep finding a lack of tasty interesting lunch salads in several pubs I have eaten in this summer of high temperatures. The location is fabulous and drinks on the decking with valley views are what draws us to this pub.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 30. August 2022Hi Clemmie, Thank you for your feedback. It's clear that our interpretation of the Nicoise does cause some confusion so we are going to make sure the mistake isn't repeated for our upcoming Autumn menu. I'm sure you will find more dishes to your taste once our menu has been revamped. I'm glad to read you are looking to return and I'm sure we will impress you with our food once again. Thanks very much, Joe (A.M.)

  31. U

    Unknown101

    1 Bewertung

    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 27. August 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience1
    Disorganised and forgetful service. Place felt neglected, grubby and staff didn’t seem bothered. Beautiful location, could be so much better with improved staff and food. Good for a drink outside. Nothing more.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 30. August 2022Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Please accept my apologies for all that which fell short of our high standards during your visit, I'm terribly sorry it impacted your experience with us so negatively. I will use your review for training purposes to make sure we improve on some areas that you highlighted that our junior staff could use some improvement on. I understand this is of little solace now but I want you to know your feedback is taken seriously. Joe (A.M.)

  32. MM

    MaggieM

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 27. August 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Great food. We would have had dessert and coffee but no one came to take our order after giving us dessert menus so we asked for the bill and left. Overall good experience

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 30. August 2022Hi Maggie, Thanks for your great review and feedback. I'm terribly sorry that we didn't quite make it over the finish line for your experience with us, but I'm glad it didn't impact your visit with us much at all. I do hope we'll be able to welcome you again soon so that we can deliver you the 5* experience of which I know we are capable. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  33. JM

    JoelM

    London

    3 Bewertungen

    5.0

    3 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 26. August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely staff, lovely food. We had a lovely time! Highly recommended.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Hi Joel, Thanks so much for your very kind review! So glad you enjoyed yourselves and we eagerly anticipate your next visit. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  34. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. August 2022

    overall4food5service3ambience4
    The food is very good and the restaurant has a very nice view. I have enjoyed the food and the whole experience.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 27. August 2022Hello, Thanks very much for your great review and kind words! I do hope you'll visit us again soon so that we can give you the 5* experience of which I know we're capable. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  35. A

    Anonymous

    1 Bewertung

    2.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 25. August 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience2
    Not as great as used to be. Very dirty toilets. Food was OK but very expensive.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 26. August 2022Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, please accept my apologies for the issues you mentioned which added up to leave you with a less than satisfactory impression of us. As in most places our toilets are checked regularly throughout the day for restock and cleaning, I will ensure our team are reminded of their duties here. I am however glad that you did enjoy your food. Thanks again, Joe (A.M.)

  36. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 Bewertungen

    3.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 24. August 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience4
    Lovely looking pub in a great location with awesome views. Nicely decorated inside, comfortable and orderly. Busy when we went on a Wed night. Food a bit ordinary in my view, pretty standard pub grub, burgers, steak, salads, grilled chops. Strangely the nibble and starters menu showed more chef skills, although our padron peppers weren't charred to sweetness or salted enough. A little overpriced and under performing but it's popular. Wouldn't refuse to go back but wouldn't make an effort

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 26. August 2022Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and accompanying feedback. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your first impressions of our lovely pub. You are correct that we do like to offer a range of 'pub classics' as we call them, alongside some more interesting a la carte choices and our daily specials. We are changing our menu quite shortly so when you do decide to return I certainly hope we'll impress you. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  37. PJ

    PhilippaJ

    London

    5 Bewertungen

    4.0

    5 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 24. August 2022

    overall4food3service5ambience5
    for me and my guest the menu seemed to be more restricted and somewhat less interesting than on previous occasions. I do understand that cost savings must be made, so not really complaining. Just a little disappointed that there was less choice for me. Burgers/ fish and chips would be my last choice, but I do normally like fish/meat because I rarely cook those at home - megrim sole I am not too keen on and sirloin is not my preferred steak - the pork chop was OK, but I would have preferred lamb, duck, fillet steak . . .

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 26. August 2022Hi Phillippa, Thanks your review and feedback. I'm very glad that you all enjoyed yourselves but not as much as you should have done due to a couple of niggles. I'm sorry that there wasn't much to your taste on our menu - we do change it quite frequently, particularly seasonally, so please visit again soon to try a whole range of new dishes. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  38. JS

    JaneS

    Worcestershire

    1 Bewertung

    4.0

    1 Bewertung

    Besucht am 22. August 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    Excellent meal and lovely place but the noise was too loud for my husband who has trouble hearing and everything that was said echoed for him. He does wear hearing aids.On saying this it would not stop us returning especially if the windows could be opened on a better day or we could sit outside.

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 24. August 2022Hi Jane, Thanks for the great review! I'm sorry to hear that the acoustics made it a bit difficult for your husband, we do have areas of the pub that are much quieter so for your next visit please do let us know that is your preference and we would be more than happy to oblige. Or as you mentioned on a nice day you'd be welcome to sit on the terrace and make the most of our wonderful views. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  39. b

    bill

    London

    13 Bewertungen

    VIP
    3.0

    13 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 21. August 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    Ran out of Roast Beef for Sunday lunch. And then I ordered a desert but the wrong one turned up. Apparently they had run out of my choice as well but they told another table instead of me !!! The food we did have was good but would probably not return

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 24. August 2022Hi Bill, Thanks for taking the time to detail your thoughts on your visit with us. Terribly sorry that we ran out of beef by the time you arrived, I can certainly empathise with your frustrations there. I'm glad it didn't impact your experience too heavily and you still all enjoyed yourselves, but I am sorry to read you won't be returning. Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    2 Bewertungen

    3.0

    2 Bewertungen

    Besucht am 21. August 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    Overall ok, prices expensive for quality of food, service and portion sizes. Wouldn't be in a rush back

    The Hare & HoundsGeantwortet: 24. August 2022Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and your feedback. Glad you had a good time with us, and we do hope you will eventually return. We change our menu seasonally so come Autumn might be a good time to give us another chance to impress! Thank you again, Joe (A.M.)

Sicherheitsmaßnahmen

  • Reinigung und Desinfektion

    • Desinfektion von Oberflächen nach jedem Gast
    • Digitales, desinfiziertes oder Einweg-Menü
    • Verwendung von eingeschweißten oder verpackten Utensilien
    • Gemeinschaftliche Bereiche werden täglich gründlich gereinigt
    • Desinfektionsmittel oder Reinigungstücher für Kunden
    • Kontaktlose Zahlung möglich
  • Räumliche Distanz

    • Begrenzte Anzahl sitzender Gäste
    • Abstandhalten in gemeinschaftlichen Bereichen
    • Zusätzlicher Platz zwischen den Tischen
  • Screening

    • Krankes Personal am Arbeitsplatz verboten
    • Überprüfung der Temperatur des Personals
    • Sammlung von Informationen zur Kontaktverfolgung

FAQ

The Hare & Hounds wurde mit 4.1 Sternen von 2273 OpenTable-Gästen bewertet.

Ja, Sie können in diesem Restaurant reservieren, indem Sie auf OpenTable Datum, Uhrzeit und Personenzahl wählen.

Tisch reservieren

2 Personen

19:00


Heute einmal reserviert
The Hare & Hounds auf Google Maps

Lansdown Road, Bath, Somerset BA1 5TJ

Zusätzliche Informationen

  • Gebiet

    Bath

  • Öffnungszeiten

    Mo–Fr 8:30 Uhr–10:30 Uhr Sa, So 9:00 Uhr–22:30 Uhr

  • Küchen

    Britisch, Moderne europäische Küche

  • Restaurantart

    Zwangloses Restaurant

  • Kleidung

    Legere Kleidung

  • Details zu Parkplätzen

    Our private car park holds around 20 cars, plus there is plenty of on street parking.

  • Zahlungsmethoden

    American Express, MasterCard, Visa

  • Küchenchef

    Jonathan Murphy

  • Weitere Details

    Aussicht, Bier, Biergarten, Cocktails, Kamin, Komplette Bar, Nebenräume, Nichtraucher, Terrasse/Im Freien, Terrasse/Im Freien, Wein, Wochenendbrunch

  • Telefonnummer

    01225 482682

  • Räume für private Veranstaltungen

    The Library has a private dining space for up to 12 people, plus an adjoining lounge area for drinks.

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 ​–​ Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
OpenTable ist Teil von Booking Holdings, dem weltweiten Marktführer für Online‑Reisen und zugehörige Dienstleistungen.
Booking-LogoPriceline-LogoKAYAK-LogoAgoda-LogoRentalcars-LogoOpenTable-Logo