Bistro Le Coq

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
28 Bewertungen
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
31 bis 50 Kanadische Dollar
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Französisch

Top-Etiketten:

Für Rendezvous geeignet
Authentisch
Vor/nach dem Theater
Was 28 Gäste sagen
Bewertungen insgesamt
Bewertungen können nur von Gästen gemacht werden, die in diesem Restaurant gegessen haben.
4.3Basierend auf kürzlich erfolgten Ratings
4.4
Essen
4.5
Service
4.3
Ambiente
4.2
Preis-Leistung
Lärm · Ruhig
93 % der Gäste würden das Restaurant einem Freund empfehlen
Sortieren nach
Filter
PV
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 27. November 2019
Gesamt4Essen5Service4Ambiente4

Excellent food, good service, fair prices. We always take out-of-town visitors to Bistro Le Coq for a fine dining experience. Good value. Only negative observation was that one of the ladies mentioned that the cleanliness of the washroom could be better.

Melden
DM
Vancouver
58 Bewertungen
Besucht am 26. November 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service5Ambiente4

There are so many quality restaurants in Halifax, just added another to my list of favorites. I guess I was a pretty low maintenance customer, solo diner, ordered oysters and then mussels and fries, polishing them off with a nice bottle of champagne. Food was excellent, service wonderful, made for a great evening.

Melden
JC
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 16. November 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service5Ambiente4

Great location across from Neptune Theatre. Good food, smallish menu. Excellent service with attention to allergies. Would return

Melden
K
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 10. November 2019
Gesamt4Essen5Service5Ambiente4

I was a bit disappointed when I ordered the chef's dessert and it wasn't ready yet. We asked if they had anything chocolate and they whipped up some chocolate mousse that wasn't on the menu. It was great and I was extremely impressed! We'll be back.

Melden
KM
Montreal
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 9. November 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Great meal! Our server was enthusiastic and helpful with menu choices. We sat in back room which was lovely - lighting is a bit bright so I would recommend some dimmers!

Melden
BT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 28. Oktober 2019
Gesamt2Essen1Service4Ambiente4

Key menu items, such as the lamb shank, were unavoidable. We left after drinks without ordering food.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 30. Oktober 2019

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed. We were out of the lamb shank on Monday evening. It was a popular item over the weekend and we braise it overnight for the best possible quality. I believe you were enjoying wine when the power went out across downtown. I'm sorry you weren't able to dine with us that night, but we'd love to have you back for what I'm certain will be a wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon!

Melden
l
Toronto
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 26. Oktober 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Incredible service. Incredible food. Can't wait to go back!

Melden
SC
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 21. Oktober 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Superb in every way! We had the Gruyère Soup, Duck entrée, and cheesecake w/ lemon. All amazing! Service was wonderful. We want to return ASAP!

Melden
MM
Montreal
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 4. Oktober 2019
Gesamt5Essen4Service5Ambiente4

Jacob the bartender was fantastic.

Food was great, but duck was a little over done, sides were too small a needed more sauce. All other dishes were fantastic. The burger was phenomenal!

Disappointed the bone marrow is off the menu.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 18. Oktober 2019

Hi Matt, Thank you for your feedback, as we do agree Jacob is quite Fantastic and he appreciates your kind words, I have passed your comments on to the chef as we take any and all feedback to improve, We hope to see in again soon!

Melden
NK
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 4. Oktober 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service4Ambiente3

We had reservations for two and yet we were seated next to 2 very loud large parties. It was better when they left, but at the start we could barely hear ourselves and each other. Food was ok. I think the chef should read on how to make ratatouille, though. :) Dessert was kind of odd. The server was nice, but just nice enough. We appreciated two little flutes of sparkling rose because we were celebrating two birthdays. It was alright overall.

Melden
AG
18 Bewertungen
Besucht am 3. Oktober 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service3Ambiente4

We enjoyed our meals at Bistro Le Coq. It's a classic French menu, and nice atmosphere. We only made one mistake, and it did affect our service. We had a reservation for 6 pm. Turns out that Bistro Le Coq is directly across the street from Neptune Theater, where a performance was scheduled for 7:30 pm. As a result, there were a lot of pre-theater patrons in the restaurant, and the priority was obviously to get their meals completed before curtain time. As a result, I think the non theater-goers suffered. (We were asked when we sat down whether we were going to the theater, and we replied "no". In retrospect, perhaps I should have said "yes" to get faster service!)
The result was that it took at least 10 minutes after we were seated before we were offered a drink. We ordered some glasses of wine, but it was another 10-15 minutes before the wine arrived.
For appetizers, we tried the scallop ceviche, which was ok but not outstanding. We had recently been to Peru where ceviche is very popular, so perhaps we were spoiled. Nevertheless , there was not much taste to this one. We also shared an order of the choir de bruxelles (brussel sprouts done with brie, candied pecans, and maple butter. This was delicious.
For main courses, we tried the duck breast, which was perfectly cooked and flavorful. Also had the steak frites; this classic item can be unpredictable in some restaurants, because it depends so much on the quality of the meat and the way it is cooked. I asked for medium rare and it was cooked perfectly. The steak had lots of flavor and the fries were crisp and tasty. One of our group had the Salade Nicoise for a main course and liked it.
So in summary, our problem was not the food. It's the fact that we arrived at 6 pm, but didn't see our main courses until almost 7:45 pm. I suggest going no earlier than 7 pm, unless you have theater tickets that night!

Melden
SQ
Toronto
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 29. September 2019
Gesamt3Essen4Service2Ambiente4

After enjoying a wonderful lunch we decided to return for dinner on our last night in Halifax, Sunday Sept 29th. The food was wonderful but our waitress was not interested in serving us. We had to ask for bread, refill on wine, and what was available for desert. We were never asked if we'd like coffee or an aperitif. We asked her if she was having a good day and got a very strange look from her. I have never written a bad review before but I truly feel if you don't like your job find another. This being said I would recommend this restaurant.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 6. Oktober 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback , I am very sorry to hear to that you didn't enjoy your evening with us, if you could please email me at alicia@rcr.ca I would love to further discuss your experience here and see if we can find a way to have you back for your next visit into Halifax!

Melden
F
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 28. September 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service4Ambiente5

Elegant, relaxing atmosphere, Hilary was our Waitress. Great service and informative about the menu and drinks.💕

Melden
CP
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 21. September 2019
Gesamt4Essen5Service5Ambiente5

What a wonderful vintage space with a real french cottage feel, cheerful and attentative wait staff and mouth watering food. If you have no time or money to travel to Europe you can spend a few hours there at Bistro Le Coq.

Melden
m
Chicago
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 20. September 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Brunch lobster Benni was worth a second trip. Went for dinner also and loved the mussels & frites ( best frites ever). Canard great also. Wait staff were so friendly and had good advice for travelers. Highly recommend this place.

Melden
d
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 18. September 2019
Gesamt3Essen3Service4Ambiente2

I was first attracted to this restaurant by the picture of the room in your online description. It looked cosy and well lit but the real thing was rather gloomy and poorly lit. There was only one waitress which probably contributed to the wait time. She did her best to serve us and was pleasant and helpful but she seemed to be the only person there, except for the cook. I was surprised by the 'thinness' of the menu and by the absence of any soups. I lived in Paris for three years -- one reason for picking your restaurant -- and was surprised to find 'Mac and Fries' on your menu and the lack of soups. Frankly, the atmosphere hinted at a restaurant that was not doing very well but we might have been there on a slow day. I was entertaining a couple from Ontario and felt that I had to apologize for my choice.

Melden
OT
Birmingham
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 13. September 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service5Ambiente4

Waitress was very good-terry. Very personable and efficient. Food was very good. All round good experience.

Melden
P
Houston
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 13. September 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service4Ambiente4

I have a favourite ... moules et frites and they were delicious yet again. We waited too long for our dinner, which meant a rushed dessert and no coffee. But, we had great service and enjoyed our dinner.

Melden
JD
Neuengland
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 12. September 2019
Gesamt3Essen4Service2Ambiente1

Good enough food, great cocktails, so-so service. Could be better.

Melden
MW
Detroit
5 Bewertungen
Besucht am 31. August 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Bistro Le Coq is a wonderful respite from many touristy restaurants. In Halifax. This charming, quaint yet sophisticated little spot executed brilliantly on all fronts. Service, presentation and taste. Gnudi which I had never tasted were similar to gnocchi but lighter. Delightful. Beet salad appetizer and duck breast mains were nothing short of perfection. Creme brûlée classic had the requisite crunch. Could use a broader wine list but a few very good bottles for any taste. This is a gem worth visiting.

Melden
D
Austin
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 31. August 2019
Gesamt3Essen4Service3Ambiente4

Food was excellent but service was exceptionally slow. We were there for 2 hours and I told the waitress we had a show to go to. We were served0 our main course 15 minutes before the show started and had to rush to finish our meal before catching the show. I had to ask 3 times before we were served. This may not be normal but this was what we experienced.

Melden
OT
Calgary
5 Bewertungen
Besucht am 24. August 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Excellent meal and the service was outstanding!

Melden
OT
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 18. August 2019
Gesamt3Essen5Service4Ambiente5

Food was great; although they didnt have all the menu options available. Service was good, with the exception that it took 40 min to receive our lunch.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 23. August 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am very sorry your experience didn't meet your expectations, this was very busy day for us with some unexpectedly large parties, which is why you most likely experienced longer wait-times and some items which had been sold out of. We have taken this as a learning experience and will improve going forward. We hope to see you again in the near future. Alicia

Melden
B
Miami
6 Bewertungen
Besucht am 16. August 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

Our meal and service were fabulous.
The only thing I would change is a bit less salt on the duck frites.
Will definitely return!

Melden
GC
Toronto
2 Bewertungen
Besucht am 6. August 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

A wonderful place that I am very happy we stumbled upon.
We will be going back to Bistro Le Coq on our next visit to Halifax.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 9. August 2019

We are so glad you enjoyed everything! and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!

Melden
BM
3 Bewertungen
Besucht am 26. Juli 2019
Gesamt4Essen4Service4Ambiente4

Everything was well prepared and the service was great. There was some noise overspill, but it was a nearly full house.

Melden
KB
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 26. Juli 2019
Gesamt5Essen5Service5Ambiente5

great food, excellent staff, delightful environment.

Bistro Le Coq
Geantwortet: 29. Juli 2019

Thank you very much Kimberly! Hope to see you again soon!

Melden
MR
1 Bewertung
Besucht am 20. Juli 2019
Gesamt3Essen2Service4Ambiente2

Made the reservation on line, I noted that it was for my boyfriends birthday ... no mention of our special night out during diner , so what was the purpose of asking if the diner was for anything special ??The diner was ok .. nothing to write home about, they changed waitress mid stream, not sure why although our first waitress was lovely. Overall dining experience was ...Disappointing 😕

Melden